Timberline Award

Rocky Mountain Performance Excellence announces four recipients of its 2014 Awards for Excellence

Denver, CO – December 8, 2014 – Rocky Mountain Performance Excellence (RMPEx) announced that four organizations were selected by its panel of judges as the 2014 recipients of the RMPEx Awards for Excellence, with one earning the Peak Award, the highest RMPEx honor for performance excellence. Community Hospital was among three recipients to receive the Timberline Award.

“Community Hospital is extremely proud it has been named as a Rocky Mountain Performance Excellence Timberline award recipient,” said Community Hospital President & CEO, Jim Ulrich. “It was especially meaningful since we were among a very small amount of recipients receiving the award,” he added. This is the first time the hospital has applied for the award.

“Excellence is highly valued in our organization,” Ulrich said. “It is a journey that is full of tremendous accomplishment and pride along the way,” he continued. “Excellence is never an accident; it is always the result of high intention, intelligent direction, sincere effort, skillful execution, and the vision to see obstacles as opportunities.”

When asking Ulrich about next steps, he replied, “We are already making plans to apply for the next highest award level offered by RMPEx, the Peak Award.” Once that is achieved, the hospital, on its continual journey to excellence, will apply for the coveted Malcolm Baldrige National Quality Award.

“This is not an easy journey but we feel it is one that organizations like ours are very dedicated and passionate to take,” said Jim Ulrich, Community Hospital President & CEO. “Our contact from Rocky Mountain couldn’t say enough about our organization and just how unique we are to have such a drive to excellence through leadership, culture, teamwork, and a backbone of performance improvement both in passion and structure that they just don’t see in very many organizations.”

2014 award recipients include:

Peak Award Recipient

  • The City of Fort Collins

Timberline Award Recipients

  • Community Hospital
  • Donor Alliance
  • Littleton Adventist Hospital

The City of Ft. Collins is only the fifth organization to earn a Peak Award in the 13-year history of RMPEX. RMPEx is the regional chapter of the prestigious national Baldrige Performance Excellence Program, established by Congress and President Ronald Reagan in 1987. It is the only presidential-level award for quality in the US. The Malcolm Baldrige National Quality Award recognizes U.S. organizations in business, health care, education, and nonprofit sectors for performance excellence.